Awards Scheme 2016

Sports Directory

Select a sport to find out more:

Newsletter Signup

Sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with all the goings on:

Active Durham Sport and Physical Activity Awards

CDS Awards 2016 - Group - winners

Local winners have now been announced at Awards Events during October and November. 

All local winners will automatically go forward to compete in their award category at the County Awards event to be held at The Gala Theatre in Durham on Friday 26 January 2018.

See Awards Criteria for further information. 

Local Winners

Contribution to Physical Activity

Richard Judd - Derwentside

Riverside Striders - Durham & CLS

The Ladder Centre - East Durham & Sedgefield

Alan Lawson - Mid Durham & Dales

Sport & Physical Activity Achievement of the Year

Graham Walton - Derwentside

Andrew Robertson - Durham & CLS

Sean Burnett - East Durham & Sedgefield

Rachel Edmunds - Mid Durham & Dales

Coach of the Year

Brett Wilkinson - Derwentside

Gordon Beattie - Durham & CLS

Michael Shaw - East Durham & Sedgefield

Gary McAllister - Mid Durham & Dales

Young Coach of the Year

Jenna Dodds - Derwentside

Abbie Inglis - Durham & CLS

Matthew Lynn - East Durham & Sedgefield

Connor Ward - Mid Durham & Dales

Primary School Contribution to Sport & Physical Activity

South Stanley Infants & Nursery School - Derwentside

Finchale Primary School - Durham & CLS

St Cuthbert's RCVA Primary School - East Durham & Sedgefield

Copeland Road Primary School - Mid Durham & Dales

Secondary School Contribution to Sport & Physical Activity

No Entry - Derwentside

Durham Johnston Comprehensive School - Durham & CLS

Easington Academy - East Durham & Sedgefield

Kind James I Academy - Mid Durham & Dales

Volunteer of the Year

Karen Pinnell - Derwentside

Sandra & Paul Chapman - Durham & CLS

Steven Lawson - East Durham & Sedgefield

Samantha & Paul Tucker - Mid Durham & Dales

Young Volunteer of the Year

Keiran Frame - Derwentside

Caitlin Kemp - Durham & CLS

Jordan Evans - East Durham & Sedgefield

Ryna Daughtery - Mid Durham & Dales

Sports Club of the Year

Shotley & Benfieldside Tennis Club - Derwentside

Sacriston Colliery Cricket Club - Durham & CLS

Sedgefield Squash Club - East Durham & Sedgefield

Hunwick Cricket Club - Mid Durham & Dales

Junior Sports Club of the Year

Consett Steelers Netball Club - Derwentside

Durham City Gymnastics Club - Durham & CLS

Murton Cricket Club - East Durham & Sedgefield

Bishop Auckland St Mary's JFC - Mid Durham & Dales

Sports Performance of the Year

Jenny Todd - Derwentside

Daniel Jenkin - Durham & CLS

Spennymoor Town Football Club - East Durham & Sedgefield

Teesdale Special Olympics Club - Mid Durham & Dales

Young Sports Performance of the Year

Alexandra Stevenson - Derwentside

Tia Anderson - Durham & CLS

Georgia O'Connor - East Durham & Sedgefield

Ellie Barker - Mid Durham & Dales

Contribution to Sport

Phillip Powell - Derwentside

Julie Scurfield - Durham & CLS

Bernard Borsberry - East Durham & Sedgefield

Edward McFarlane - Mid Durham & Dales

If you would like to know any further information regarding the awards please contact Jeanette Turner-Gudgeon at County Durham Sport on 0191 374 6127 or